The FAST Scale For The Evaulation Of Moderate To Severe Dementia

What follows is The FAST Scale For The Evaulation Of Moderate To Severe Dementia [Link is to the PDF that you can easily save and print] from The John A. Hartford
Center of Excellence in Geriatrics Education

The FAST scale is a functional scale designed to evaluate patients at the more moderate-severe stages of dementia
when the MMSE no longer can reflect changes in a meaningful clinical way. In the early stages the patient may be
able to participate in the FAST administration but usually the information should be collected from a caregiver or,
in the case of nursing home care, the nursing home staff.
The FAST scale has seven stages:
1 which is normal adult
2 which is normal older adult
3 which is early dementia
4 which is mild dementia
5 which is moderate dementia
6 which is moderately severe dementia
7 which is severe dementia

FAST Functional Milestones.
FAST stage 1 is the normal adult with no cognitive decline. FAST stage 2 is the normal older adult with very mild
memory loss. Stage 3 is early dementia. Here memory loss becomes apparent to co-workers and family. The patient
may be unable to remember names of persons just introduced to them. Stage 4 is mild dementia. Persons in this
stage may have difficulty with finances, counting money, and travel to new locations. Memory loss increases. The
person’s knowledge of current and recent events decreases. Stage 5 is moderate dementia. In this stage, the person
needs more help to survive. They do not need assistance with toileting or eating, but do need help choosing
clothing. The person displays increased difficulty with serial subtraction. The patient may not know the date and
year or where they live. However, they do know who they are and the names of their family and friends. Stage 6 is
moderately severe dementia. The person may begin to forget the names of family members or friends. The person
requires more assistance with activities of daily living, such as bathing, toileting, and eating. Patients in this stage
may develop delusions, hallucinations, or obsessions. Patients show increased anxiety and may become violent. The
person in this stage begins to sleep during the day and stay awake at night. Stage 6 is severe dementia. In this stage,
all speech is lost. Patients lose urinary and bowel control. They lose the ability to walk. Most become bedridden and
die of sepsis or pneumonia.

This entry was posted in 2018 Blog Posts, Dementia, Evaluation of Symptoms, Family Medicine, Geriatrics, Internal Medicine, Medical Decision Making, Medical Scales and Forms, Mild Cognitive Impairment, Neurology, Palliative Care. Bookmark the permalink.